The Pacifier


Liam still uses his pacifier at nap and bedtime.  I am writing this post for two reasons.  First, I don’t remember when Ginger gave up hers, I think she was around three like Liam.  I can’t believe that I don’t even remember so here is proof for later that Liam was still using his pacifier when he turned three.  Second, if anyone reading this had a great tip, I am all ears.

I am afraid if he gives it up nap time might disappear also, but I really don’t want him to keep using it.  With Ginger we read lots of books and she just stopped using her pacifier and maybe put some in the trash (I think).  I think I might try to go to the library today and find some books for him to read.  I am not sure what it will take for him to give it up.  Gotta start sometime, right?

About Jessica

I am married to my college sweetheart and have three beautiful children. Things that interest me include: kids, healthy foods, coupons and great shopping deals. I am getting used to life with three little ones and my goals are getting my home organized, getting back into shape, and most of all loving my family & friends well each day!
This entry was posted in Liam. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Pacifier

  1. Donna says:

    Oh my! He is so cute!

  2. Maureen says:

    Well, my rule of thumb has always been to drop the paci as soon as they are walking. That said, each child is different and you can’t always count on the same thing working for all of them.
    A friend of mine did the Paci Fairy thing…you put all of the pacifiers in a big plastic bag and have your child help you tie the bag to a tree limb, telling him/her about the Paci Fairy coming to bring the pacifiers to new little baby boys and girls. The next day you go out to look at the tree and some kind of toy or treat is tied in it’s place. I haven’t tried this, but it does sound cute and I think a 3 year old would really go for it.
    Let me know if you try it and it works. Good luck and Happy Thanksgiving!
    Maureen

    • Jessica says:

      Thanks for the tip Maureen! I hadn’t heard of the Paci Fairy thing and we certainly have plenty of trees to pick from. He has mentioned a couple of times that he is going to stop using it, but then he tells us that he still wants to use it at bedtime. At least he seems to be thinking about giving it up. You are so smart to get rid of it when they start walking, it is probably easier at that point. I hope your Thanksgiving was lovely!

Leave a Reply

