CVS – When do you stock up on Toilet Paper?

Everything above was a total of $19.55 out of pocket.  I started with $9.99 ECB and ended with $10 ECB.  The Oral-B items and contact lens solution were free or money makers.  I used a 3/$5 rain check for the Skippy because my $.50 coupons expire tomorrow and $1.17 each is close to my stock-up price.  So after the Skippy, that is $16.05 (including tax) for the five Charmin Basic and one Bounty Basic ($2.68 each).

The spreadsheet below is how I had planned my transactions.  It didn’t work out exactly because for some reason the .75 floss coupon would not work on the first transaction so I told Velma (my usual Sunday cashier) to leave that coupon off.  For more deals at CVS this week or to check out some other scenarios, visit Simply CVS.

Toilet Paper Prices

While planning my Proctor & Gamble “buy $30 get $10 ECB” deal Saturday, I started thinking about toilet paper stock up prices.  Even after learning about creating a price book for your most commonly purchased items (read this post by Kelly from Kansas City Mamas), I was still unsure of what a good price was for toilet paper.  That would be over a year of wondering about it, but never sitting down to figure it out!  There are so many things to consider: square feet, double rolls, 1-ply, 2-ply, texture.  A 12 roll package of Charmin Basic has 438.3 square feet and can usually be found on sale and combined with a coupon so I tend to get it often.  Okay, back to the very interesting blog post that I discovered by Deal Seeking Mom (read it entirely here).

Look at the front bottom of the toilet paper package to determine the total square feet. Now insert a decimal point in this number two places to the left. If the cost of the package minus coupons is less than or equal to this figure, it’s a decent deal — basically $0.01 or less per square foot!

Here is an example of this principle from two types of toilet paper that I have purchased at CVS recently.

The five packages that I bought yesterday were $2.68 on average and that is why I bought so many.  I really appreciated the handy tip from Deal Seeking Mom, so I wanted to pass it along.  I hope it helps you, too!

About Jessica

I am married to my college sweetheart and have three beautiful children. Things that interest me include: kids, healthy foods, coupons and great shopping deals. I am getting used to life with three little ones and my goals are getting my home organized, getting back into shape, and most of all loving my family & friends well each day!
This entry was posted in CVS and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to CVS – When do you stock up on Toilet Paper?

  1. Great trip! I totally forgot about the contact solution! I have a linky up on my blog if you would like to come post your shopping trip 🙂

  2. Nice trip and spreadsheet!! Something to try! 🙂

  3. Cheryl says:

    Great information–and I loooooove your new banner :-). Thanks for linking up your CVS shopping trip at Simply CVS.

  4. Maureen says:

    Jessica,

    Oh thank you for that tip! After watching the Extreme Couponing show on TLC in December, I decided that I needed to try couponing for myself. I have started out slowly, but the thing that intrigued me the most on that show was their stockpiles of toilet paper!! I have 4 girls and we use a LOT of toilet paper and we are always running out! After that show I actually dreamed of having a stockpile of TP!!

    But like you I haven’t even tried to buy a lot of it because I couldn’t figure out what was a good price. Problem solved! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    I haven’t posted about my couponing, but I am really having a blast with it! I was at Target on Friday night, purchased $179 worth of groceries, toiletries and cleaning products…OOP $2.17!!! This is so fun!

    We still have to do Starbucks! Let me know when you have a day and I will make time!

    • Jessica says:

      Maureen, that is some amazing shopping!! I have never done that well at Target. We must do Starbucks! I am writing on my calendar to contact you in the next few days for some time next week hopefully (I am at this moment taking a break from clearing out my kitchen cabinets because Bill is sanding and then is going to paint, it’s a mess!). I am so glad you are having fun couponing and I can totally see where it would be really helpful with 4 girls and all the products we girls use 😉

Leave a Reply

