CVS- A Lesson on Mixing Ads on Saturday Night

I am not going to detail this shopping trip from Saturday night (26th) because some of the items were from last weeks ad, but I thought I would do this post because I learned about shopping on Saturday night.  Some stores (mine included because I asked) have the next weeks ad prices in their system late on Saturday evening so if you shop that night you can get deals for both weeks.  I had never tried this and to a certain extent it worked great.  Everything pictured above was free and I got back about $10.50 in ECB (if I remember correctly, which is slightly more than I started with).  But, the Physicians Formula mascara was on sale in both weeks and it rang up 40% off  ($6.48 instead of $9.99 get $7 ECB.  Turns out, that the lower price will ring up even if you would rather have the higher price with the ECB.  From reading this post by Cheryl at Simply CVS, it sounds like you could request the other ad price if you prefer.  And it also turns out that CVS may even be changing the policy on when the following week’s ad goes into effect so ask your cashier before you shop on a Saturday night if you are trying to combine ads.

Here is what I went back for on Sunday, these are a part of 3/27 deals.  Check out match-ups at Simply CVS.  I paid $1.72 for everything below and got back $12 ECB.  I found a B1G1 Halls manufacturer coupon at Hy-Vee about a month ago so it came in handy here.  You never know when those random coupons that you happen across might come in handy!  

About Jessica

I am married to my college sweetheart and have three beautiful children. Things that interest me include: kids, healthy foods, coupons and great shopping deals. I am getting used to life with three little ones and my goals are getting my home organized, getting back into shape, and most of all loving my family & friends well each day!
This entry was posted in CVS. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CVS- A Lesson on Mixing Ads on Saturday Night

  1. Donna says:

    Good job!

Leave a Reply

