The Coloring Contest

Ginger has been really into coloring lately.  She comes home from 7 hours of school and wants to color.  Sometime before Thanksgiving she told me that she was “the best at coloring in the whole world”!  So I was telling my amazing Aunt Laura about this at Thanksgiving and how I thought she would really like a coloring contest.  Since Laura is a teacher, of course, she found a coloring contest at U.S. Toy (the teacher supply store here).  I have memories of going to U.S. Toy with my siblings and picking inexpensive gifts for each other and wrapping them ourselves.  It was great fun and I had decided to take Ginger and Liam to do that for each other this year.  Yesterday we went, with Grammy and our colored pictures.  I wish now that I had taken a picture.  They both had a great time looking around and then separating to pick gifts and check out.  Ginger checked out with my mom and Liam was with me.  At the bottom of the picture, there was a coupon that said you would get a “fun box”.  I didn’t tell the kids anything about it though since I wasn’t really sure what it was, I just was thinking about the shopping and I had prepared Ginger for the idea that we might not know who the winner is (Dec 17th is the end of the contest) and she might win but might not and it was just fun to try and have the experience of coloring the picture.

So Ginger turned in her picture to the cashier, who went to get the “Fun Box” and when she saw it Mom said her face lit up and she shouted, “I knew it!  I knew it! I knew I would be a winner!” Oh, she was so excited!  Liam had received a box as well so she came rushing to where I was waiting with Liam and I could hear her saying, “I hope Liam won, too!” and then when she saw that he “won” she was so excited that they both won!  It was priceless!!!  Absolutely priceless.  She was giddy, it was so awesome.  Best Christmas shopping trip ever!  When they got home they were so excited to open their boxes, which contained tons of US Toy “Treasures”.   As Bill said…everyone was a winner!

About Jessica

I am married to my college sweetheart and have three beautiful children. Things that interest me include: kids, healthy foods, coupons and great shopping deals. I am getting used to life with three little ones and my goals are getting my home organized, getting back into shape, and most of all loving my family & friends well each day!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Coloring Contest

  1. Amy says:

    super awesome! You have great kids! I love how excited Ginger was for winning AND that she wanted her brother to win too!

Leave a Reply

