Kitchen Jobs

Silhouette Art Growing up, we had kitchen jobs.  The jobs were numbered 1-4. Job #1 was wash/rinse dishes and then the other jobs were loading the dishwasher, wiping/clearing the table, and sweeping the floor.  From what I remember, most of us did not like #1 because it seemed to be the most work (Nathan might have liked it the most because he played with the water).  The job changed each day and we kept track in our heads which job was ours (there was just a piece of paper on the refrigerator that had the jobs listed).  Anyway, it was a good memory 🙂

Recently, I realized that Genevieve really liked to help wash dishes (it keeps her busy while I wash most of the dishes).  I put her up to the table with a dishcloth and she could wipe!  I just had to move her from chair to chair.  Time for my kids to have kitchen jobs!!  I did make them a chart because I don’t think they could keep track on their own just yet.   I had all of the stuff (scrapbook paper, brad, stickers, silhouette art) on hand already so it was really quick.

We have been using the Kitchen Job Wheel for a few weeks now.  I help them with the jobs (especially Genevieve), but it really makes cleaning the kitchen easier!   What is really funny is that they have their favorite jobs (just like when I was growing up!).  Ginger likes wipe the table, Liam likes sweep the floor, and Genevieve LOVES to wash the dishes.  Genevieve gets upset sometimes when it is not her turn for dishes.  They still need lots of practice so I am planning for them to get points for doing their kitchen jobs during Super Summer Challenge to get them in a habit.

Anyone else have good memories to share of doing jobs/chores as a kid?

About Jessica

I am married to my college sweetheart and have three beautiful children. Things that interest me include: kids, healthy foods, coupons and great shopping deals. I am getting used to life with three little ones and my goals are getting my home organized, getting back into shape, and most of all loving my family & friends well each day!
This entry was posted in Crafty, Genevieve, Ginger, Liam and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kitchen Jobs

  1. Randy says:

    I love this chart! It always gives Mom & I a great deal of pleasure when we see one of you kids take something that we did with you kids and make it even better! This is really nice and you will love what happens with the kids by the time they are 20!!! Great job! Dad

  2. Jessica says:

    Thank you, Dad! I love you!

  3. Amy says:

    Love the creative way to make chores fun! Thanks for the inspiration.

    • Jessica says:

      Thanks, Amy 🙂 I was so excited tonight when I told them to clear their plates while I was talking to Travis in the other room. When I walked back into the kitchen, they (Ginger and Liam) were already working on their jobs!!

Leave a Reply

