Olympic Games Playdate!

I am a big fan of the Olympics (in case you didn’t know-ha)!  During the Olympic games of years 2006, 2008, 2010, I was really lucky to be nursing an infant so I often watched in the middle of night.  This year, I decided that I would need to get the kids interested in the Olympics because I want to watch (but not in the middle of the night).  I had seen some fun ideas online and on Pinterest that had me tossing around the idea of a fun party on the day of Opening Ceremonies for the kids.  A few days before the opening ceremonies, I decided to just go for it 🙂  I had a bunch of stuff on hand already so it was very simple.  It’s not to late to throw your own Olympics party so here is what we did.

Decorate!  Ginger colored the Olympic rings picture.
We made our own torch using a paper towel tube, construction paper cut out like flames and taped together, and covered with aluminum foil. We had popcorn in ice cream cones (Torches! click link for that idea and more).  I also left out a large bowl of popcorn because a cone doesn’t hold very much! 
The other idea for snack was something that I had taken from Vacation Bible Camp at our church this summer…Bugles and Mike and Ike candy.  Put the candy in a Bugle and it looks like a tiny torch!  The kids colored pictures first and had their snacks.  Then we braved the steamy backyard.  I explained beforehand that we were playing to have fun and that everyone was going to win a medal.  I also told them that they were all on the same team so they needed to cheer for each other really loudly 🙂  Time for the Olympic Oath:

I promise to follow the rules of the games…To be fair…To be a good sport…I’ll remember to play for FUN! (slightly tweaked from kidactivities.net)

Next we did an Olympic Torch relay…

1.  Standing Broad Stretch- line up…take one giant step.  This was a very quick activity, but I thought it was better than a longer running event in the heat.  Game idea from kidactivities.net.

2.  Javelin with straws taped together.  (kidactivities.net)  If you look up how to throw a javelin and then do it that way, it will actually go pretty far.  It was difficult for 3-5 year olds to follow my directions on how to throw a javelin, but they figured out their own way!It looks like I am worried that someone was going to get an eye poked out.  I remember thinking that several times.

3.  Hurdles- we used pieces from a croquet set that we have (in the photos above).  It was just the right height for the kids and they LOVED all that jumping.  It was quite entertaining for the adults because it was so cute!

4.  Shooting- we shot squirt guns at ping-pong balls balanced on golf tees.  This was probably the most popular event.  They patiently waited in two lines to do it over and over!  The idea (as part of a carnival) was on Martha Stewart.  Look at the concentration on Liam’s face.The picture of Ginger taking her turn was too blurry…but here she is using her umbrella for shade.  

5.  Shot Put- I had read ideas that used a ball, but I decided it would be more fun using water balloons (I have to think of ways to use up the huge package that I bought at the beginning of summer).  The kids made two lines and they stood in a hula hoop on the ground.  I showed them how a shot put is thrown, and then they got to throw as far as they could when I said go.

Medal Ceremony!  I lined the kids up youngest to oldest.  Then I told everyone to cheer for each person as they received their medal.  They also got to stand on our podium made of four milk crates (fancy, huh?).  It was so sweet to see the kids smile as everyone cheered and each received their medal!  Genevieve only participated in shot put, but she was thrilled with a medal (even though she is looking very serious in this picture).

Ginger and Liam look very pleased, don’t they?!  It was so much fun!

About Jessica

I am married to my college sweetheart and have three beautiful children. Things that interest me include: kids, healthy foods, coupons and great shopping deals. I am getting used to life with three little ones and my goals are getting my home organized, getting back into shape, and most of all loving my family & friends well each day!
This entry was posted in Genevieve, Ginger, Liam and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Olympic Games Playdate!

  1. Amy says:

    Thanks again for such a great party! What a fun time we all had!

  2. Travis says:

    I want to do the javeline toss!

Leave a Reply

