Blueberries & Fireworks

This morning we left for blueberry picking as early as we possibly could. Arriving to the patch very excited at 8am with cousins. Ginger worked very hard, she kept checking my bucket because she was trying to keep up (or pass me).

20130627-123944.jpg
Genevieve was melting down. It was quite hot even as early as it was. She wasn’t happy that I told her not to pick pink blueberries. Since she likes to think she is in charge, my constant reminders to only pick blue had her put out from the start. This is why I have no photos. Too bad I didn’t take one of her cute sweaty, grumpy little face.
Anyway, I rembered to take a photo at the end. Liam had to continue the tradition he started as a toddler…biting a blueberry right of the bush. This year he added a tweak, took it out of his mouth to be sure it didn’t have a bug on it and then polish it off.

20130627-124527.jpg
On the way to the blueberry patch we noticed a number of fireworks tents. I couldn’t resist stopping on the way back home. Years with Grandma and Grandpa Davis have turned me into one of those people who my family always laughed about, lighting their money on fire. This time of year as a children and teenagers we were probably a week into our stay with Grandma and Grandpa selling fireworks. Anyway, we just had to pick up a Hen, Frog, Friendship Pagoda, Dancing Butterflies, snappers, sparklers, smoke balls, and a few random things the man gave to us for free.

20130627-125640.jpg
Ginger spotted a ladybug and wondered what it did. The kind gentleman helping us said he wasn’t sure so he would try it out. Good thing! He lit it and at first it spun on the ground, but suddenly flew way up into the air (higher than the huge oaks in our yard). Yeah, glad we didn’t buy that one. If you take anything away from this post, remember, never buy a firework unless you know what it does 🙂

And lastly, I had to throw in a couple of photos from way back.

20130627-130447.jpg
I was sitting on fireworks as a baby. No wonder I couldn’t help but light my money on fire today! 🙂

About Jessica

I am married to my college sweetheart and have three beautiful children. Things that interest me include: kids, healthy foods, coupons and great shopping deals. I am getting used to life with three little ones and my goals are getting my home organized, getting back into shape, and most of all loving my family & friends well each day!
This entry was posted in Genevieve, Ginger, Grandpa Davis, Liam, Outdoors and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

