Cave Spring

Over spring break we had a fun outing to Cave Spring Historic Site and Nature Center. We went with Mom and friends, which made it even more fun! I can’t recall how I “found” Cave Spring, but once I did I wondered if I had been before. After talking to Mom, turns out my memory was correct and we had gone more than once as kids with friends. The great thing about the cave is that it is small, but you can go inside! The kids loved exploring. They spent quite a bit of time searching on top of the cave for the tiny opening that was letting in light. Finding it was rather exciting!

There was also a waterfall, which appeared to be rather dry. But, it will be interesting to go back in spring or summer to see if there is more water.

We also enjoyed the cabin ruins. It seems they were dismantled after WWII, leaving only foundations and chimneys. Lots of them! The kids found snail shells around all the stones and thought that was just wonderful.

If you live in Kansas City, enjoy hiking, history, and easy adventures with kids, this is a must do. And if you don’t particularly want to hike, the cave is SO close to the parking lot that you can just go see it alone and have fun.

20140325-215240.jpg

20140325-215251.jpgIsn’t the tree with exposed roots cool?

20140325-215302.jpg

20140325-215313.jpg

About Jessica

I am married to my college sweetheart and have three beautiful children. Things that interest me include: kids, healthy foods, coupons and great shopping deals. I am getting used to life with three little ones and my goals are getting my home organized, getting back into shape, and most of all loving my family & friends well each day!
This entry was posted in Genevieve, Ginger, Liam, Outdoors and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cave Spring

  1. Maureen says:

    How fun! I will have to look this up and take the kiddos! And we have to plan a playdate with you all! Have a terrific rest of March!!

  2. Donna Dorman says:

    What an interesting place, Jessica! The pictures are beautiful and you are such a great mom to take your kids on all these outings.

Leave a Reply

