Watts Mill Waterfall

I cannot believe this has been right under my nose for so long and I never knew anything about it! A while back I read an article with a list of waterfalls in the Kansas City area. When I realized how close this one was to home and to Price Chopper, I knew it was on our “must do” list for summer. We were running an errand today and I realized it would be on our way home. It’s definitely worth a look and because of its location so close to I-435 and State Line Rd, KC friends are bound to be driving by at some point. The mill foundation is still there, some signage, and picnic tables. After reading more about the mill, it has me thinking we should also visit the Trailside Center! I should also mention the absolutely amazing July weather that we have had that made this an even better outdoor adventure!

20140718-225805.jpg

20140718-225850.jpg
The kids also were delighted to find a couple of shells (Ginger is holding one in her hand).

20140718-225859.jpg

20140718-225913.jpg
There were plenty of great rocks to look at! You can see in the distance a goose coming across Indian Creek, he was looking for food and we had none. If it weren’t for his arrival we would have been exploring even longer. He was a little bit bold for me to let the kids stay around.

20140718-225923.jpg

About Jessica

I am married to my college sweetheart and have three beautiful children. Things that interest me include: kids, healthy foods, coupons and great shopping deals. I am getting used to life with three little ones and my goals are getting my home organized, getting back into shape, and most of all loving my family & friends well each day!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Watts Mill Waterfall

  1. Travis says:

    That’s great! Lauren and I have biked and ran by there several times on the trail and I always think about how pretty and out of place that is. I didn’t know it had a name.

  2. Judy says:

    What a great impromptu trip to a beautiful piece of nature. Kids are pretty adorable too!

  3. Randy Carlson says:

    That is just lovely! We have lived here for 25 years and have never found that place! Nice find! Dad

  4. Wow! When I first moved here to KC I mapped out pretty much every trail to walk in the Overland Park area. But I have never seen that. Really beautiful!

Leave a Reply

