Our Pet for a Day: Timmy the Red-Eared Slider

Trachemys scripta elegansTravis called me to say he had found a turtle.  “No way, I do not want a turtle!” I told him before he had a chance to say anything else.  “Just hear me out.”  So, he had found it in his yard while building a retaining wall and raking out some leaves against the house.  They set it out in the yard, but then when Lauren went to leave, it was in the driveway.  So, Timmy the turtle was placed in a box and Travis had the great idea to bring it to my house for the kids to see (what a cool uncle) and then we could take it to the nice, quiet pond near our house and release it.  That was a great idea, because they live on a fairly busy street and if he tried to cross…well, it could have been bad.  Travis and Lauren brought the turtle by.  The kids loved it!  They decorated his box. They gave him water, leaves, and carrots cut into tiny pieces.  They touched his shell and squealed when he moved at all (especially Genevieve).  That poor turtle had to be totally stressed out.  The Missouri Department of Conservation has a great guide to turtles found in Missouri.  That made it really easy to identify what kind of turtle we had: Trachemys scripta elegans (red-eared slider).  And based on further reading about this type of turtle, I am pretty sure we had a male based on his claws, darker colors, and tail.

If you watch the slideshow below, you can see what he did when we took him out of the box at the pond.  He wasted no time at all in crawling right into the water and swimming away (living up to the name).  He popped his head up after he was about 8 feet out and then we didn’t see him again.  And Genevieve said, “Bye-Bye Turtle.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Video UPDATE:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CLrAqBWrpUs&email=comment_received&lc=of_F95OQYcYQqzjsL0SHANQKS-u8DLpsdDbnCEEnkZs&lch=email&feature=email

 

About Jessica

I am married to my college sweetheart and have three beautiful children. Things that interest me include: kids, healthy foods, coupons and great shopping deals. I am getting used to life with three little ones and my goals are getting my home organized, getting back into shape, and most of all loving my family & friends well each day!
This entry was posted in Outdoors and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Our Pet for a Day: Timmy the Red-Eared Slider

  1. Timmy says:

    You people are crazy. And Lord help me if I see the dorky guy who tried to cram the dandelion down my throat. I have a list of places where I want to bite him.

  2. Donna says:

    this post was GREAT. Jessica you are a great mom!

  3. Travis says:

    Nice! Glad to hear Timmy’s release went well. I bet he will be much happier at the pond then on my street.

  4. Debbie White says:

    How fun! You are a great mom and dad! Sounds like they might have a pretty cool aunt and uncle too!!!

Leave a comment